• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 848 other followers

  • Karen Kallets Twitter

  • Recent Posts

  • Top Clicks

    • None
  • Pages

  • Top Posts

  • Categories

  • Recent Comments

    Shana on How can you get your blog inde…
    Quentin on Blogging Mistakes for Beg…
    Adell on What other blogs are saying ab…
    Jackie on Ping-O-Matic is your one stop…
    Hermine on What other blogs are saying ab…
    Ans on Tools for creating business we…
    Harris Ferencz on 2010 Marketing Plans: Facebook…
    Kevin Moreland on How can you get your blog inde…
    Twitter on Retweeting your own tweet…
    spam filtering on How can you get your blog inde…
    tweet on Retweeting your own tweet…
    Rich on 5 Best Printer Friendly WordPr…
    rtyecript on How can you get your blog inde…
    cp cheats on How can you get your blog inde…
    cp cheats on Ping-O-Matic is your one stop…
  • Archives

Google Wave, now that I have it, what do I do with it?

Google Wave, now that I have, it what do I do with it?

Ok,  I signed up and waited, and begged for an invite and nothing for months and then last night a non descript email from a person I did not know came inviting me to the Google Wave Beta!!!  Thrilled yes, legit, I did not know.  Ok, was this a spam email or real?  My husband said not to link to it, it must be phishing, I still took the leap of faith that they were not trying to rip off my email log ins and went for it.  It was real and it does work.  I was welcomed to the world of Google Wave.

So now that it did work and I am locked and loaded with the Wave,  here is what I have learned so far.  You have to download Google Chrome, if you want to play with Google Wave.  I kept avoiding that, then I needed an upgrade in my Adobe,.  It then lets you in once you agree to all the terms and tells you to view a loooong video.  Over an hour…….. then it brings you into the Google wave screen.

The first thing I noticed was none of your old emails come into the wave, and only the 10 friends in my address book, who also have Google wave showed up in the address book.  You can’t play until you get the wave.

There is a 2 min video that gives you less than the basics and tells you not to touch anything, since it will make the video go away.  I did find that I was given a new  googlwave email address, in addition to my gmail address.  I was not expecting that.  I assumed a smooth transition of my gmail address and emails into Wave.  Not the case.  It starts again new.   If this is the case, and I now have a new email address, then do I need to add this address to my blackberry feeds or forward it to one I look at?  So many questions, so few answers. 

Ok, so now that I have it, what do I do with it?  I did the only thing that seem to work for me, I pinged two on the list.  No answer, do you have to be on at the same time?  I had to get out of  the wave to check my real email, so who will use this beta form?  Don’t know, but it is like blogging, at first I did not get it and now I can’t live without it. 

 Google Wave… I think I will love you someday, just today you are a stranger dropped on my doorstep.  I don’t know what to do with you?   Should I spend the time to feed you and shelter you or pack your bags.  Time will tell.  So this the hot ticket in town turns out to be a blind date….. how interesting.

Leave a Reply

